The Area We Cover

The Area We Cover

In 2004 the Five Villages First Responders scheme was set up to provide "Community First Responder" cover to the following five villages, in the District of Bassetlaw in North Nottinghamshire:

- Misterton
- West Stockwith
- Walkeringham
- Beckingham cum Saundby
- Gringley on the Hill

This was also expanded to include the nearby villages of:

- Clayworth & Wieston
- Everton & Harwell
- Mattersey & Mattersey Thorpe
The team have also attended call-outs when requested by ambulance control to other nearby villages, including Bole, West Burton, North & South Wheatley, Sturton le Steeple and North Leverton in North Nottinghamshire, plus other areas including Haxey, Graiselound, Westwoodside, Gunthorpe, Owston Ferry and Epworth in the Isle of Axhole in North Lincolnshire. 
Community First Responders aim to arrive on scene as quickly and safely as possible after being alerted to an incident via the ambulance service control room following a 999 call in their area. While they are on route, the nearest ambulance vehicle, such as an emergency ambulance or fast response car is also on the way.

The chances of survival decrease by 10% with each minute that passes when a patients heart has stopped beating and early defibrillation is the key to successful resuscitation, therefore our team we will always try to attend any call that is presented to us by East Midlands Ambulance Service, as we know our prompt attendence could in some cases make a real difference to the patients chances of survival.
Share by: